Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
CV joint replacement; I found the noise!
Topic Started: Dec 22 2009, 07:14 PM (18,520 Views)
Spock
Member Avatar
Live Long and Prosper.

So I am going to replace the axle shaft on the drivers side on Saturday. Turns out, this is the source of the "clanking" I have been heraring. I have never done an axle shaft replacement before and I'll take all the advise I can get if anyone would like to share.
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

Bad Bent
Member Avatar
Facetious Educated Donkey

Check out Torn CV Boots for some dialogue.

I typed this, with some changes; Should drain the Trans. on a '91 for sure or lose a quart or more of fluid. Loosen the wheel nuts and the half shaft nut then jack it up. I got a 1/2" breaker bar and 30mm socket. I undo the brake caliper, strap/bungee to the strut, and mark then remove the lower strut bolts. The spindle should rotate enough to pull the half shaft out. The half shaft at the tranny pops out with a pry bar and gentle pressure. The new CV joints will be very stiff. The tranny end snaps in with some force. The outer end should slide in. Reverse to assemble.
Once it's on the ground, to get the recommended 132 foot pounds of torque it's good to have a torque wrench. If not, calculate your weight and slowly stand (no bounce) on the breaker bar at the 3 o'clock position. I'm 180 so I put the center of my foot about 8 inches from the nut.
Online Profile Quote Post Goto Top

Johnny Mullet
Member Avatar
Hi-Tech Redneck