Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
How do I replace front wheel bearings
Topic Started: May 12 2010, 01:48 PM (12,127 Views)
killerofangels
Member Avatar
[ *  *  * ]
I am getting a squeaking sound from the front wheels that tells me I need to replace the wheel bearings (plus the guy at the inspection station says I need that to pass). I've never done the bearings before. What exactly is required to change these? I don't have a press so I figured hammering them out with a close-enough-sized socket would be okay. I'm having trouble getting to that part, though.

So far, I've got the steering knuckle removed all the way down to the ball joint but after taking the pin and nut off, I can't seem to wiggle the bolt out of the steering knuckle. I've tried using a good amount of force and some WD40 to no effect.
Posted ImagePosted Image
I feel like I might damage the knuckle if I use any more force.

Also, what do I need to get the seals and bearing out?
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

CityConnection
Member Avatar
Sir, yes sir!

You need a pickle fork. Most autopart stores have these for sale and a few will rent them.
Edited by CityConnection, May 12 2010, 02:19 PM.

Rooy

Pickle fork will work, but likely damage the boot on the tie rod end. If you can, get a tie rod end puller (sometimes called a small pitman arm puller) or a "lever style" tie rod end puller.