Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
How to replace a PCV valve; Picture guide on replacing a PCV valve
Topic Started: Mar 23 2011, 01:05 AM (12,550 Views)
GeoRating
Member Avatar

I looked around the site for information on changing out a PCV valve, I'm still pretty new to engines and even small things like this I like to have all the information before performing; nevertheless, I couldn't find a picture guide to replacing the PCV valve, so here one is from me changing mine out earlier today.

The metro used in these pictures is a 1.0 3/5 (Manual transmission) Hatchback non convertible.

The vehicle does NOT need to have the oil drained to do this procedure (Credit to Johnny Mullet for that information!)

Things you'll need:

1) New PCV Valve
Posted Image

2) #2 Size Phillips Head Screwdriver (Decent quality here, you don't want to scrap the head)

3) Pliers to uncompress the hose clamps

4) Cleaning supplies, I used some carb cleaner, degreaser, and WD-40 along with paper towels, rags, and some pipe cleaners

5) Optional - A flathead screwdriver to help you remove the rubber hose.

This is a fairly simple procedure, took me about 2 minutes to remove the valve, 10 minutes to clean the hose out REALLY well, and 2 minutes to put the new valve in.

Posted Image
How your engine should generally look when you start

Posted Image
For starters, remove your Air Filter Assembly.

Posted Image