Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Coolant Leak; coolant leaking from behind water pump.
Topic Started: Sep 28 2011, 11:22 AM (3,188 Views)
1.0smallblock
Member Avatar
DirtBag

New to forum,
I searched a little for the topic im about to post, but im still learning how this works...(this has probably been addressed before)

I bought a very neglected 2000 chevy metro 1.0L, im not going to list all the things ive done...you guys have already been there...heres the dealie-O.

Original water pump was leaking and time to replace. After the project was completed and leak checked...took the beast for a spin, when I checked again for leaks, i noticed a coolant weep BEHIND the pump...hard to see, but it looks like the supply into the pump (metal pipe that runs from the top radiator hose all the way around back to the pump) not a bad leak, but it bugs me...there is no reference to this in my haynes manual...did i miss something here? how do you fix this little gem? I attached a photo...taken from the back towrds the front of the car.

Posted Image
Edited by 1.0smallblock, Sep 30 2011, 07:28 AM.
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

Big Rhino
Member Avatar

Welcome to the forum. Small block really does apply here :lol . You need a oring on your tube.

Posted Image

Geo Glenn
Member Avatar
What's in your engine?

Without going into great detail about how to do the repair, there is an o ring on the tube. Remove the tube and replace the o ring. Hardware store o rings work well.

1.0smallblock
Member Avatar
DirtBag