Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Non-running 91 convertible. Options?; swap engine, rebuild? fuel issue?
Topic Started: Jun 17 2017, 06:01 PM (222 Views)
3cylinderSteve
[ *  * ]
Hi everyone. I'm a novice and without the equipment nor space to do much work myself.
Looking for opinions and options here.

My '91 Metro Convertible is dead. I've long known that it has low compression in two cylinders.
I've been driving it for the past 5000+ miles as such and would just put it neutral and work the accelerator when approaching a stop to keep it from stalling.
I'll also mention it was still getting 28-32 mpg.

Last week, the car stalled as I pulled up to my apartment and it will not start. I've checked the plugs and they are firing.
In the previous few months, a handful of times it like almost stalled when driving at highway speed - like it didn't get fuel for a second, but then would buck and keep on going.

I'm particularly interested in keeping this car going because it is 99% rust free, doesn't leak, and I have put a bit of money into it.
I've replaced the top, the front tie rods and control arms, new tires, brakes, exhaust, and rear suspension.

So now, considering I may also have a fuel issue as well as the bad compression. Is it a money pit to pay a mechanic to keep this car going?
Should I try to check/replace the fuel filter, fuel pump or injector on my own (with the help of this forum and youtube) and then worry about getting the engine rebuilt?