Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Highway Speed "Bucking"/Misfire?; diagnostic troubleshooting
Topic Started: Oct 12 2017, 12:29 PM (335 Views)
MattyG
Fresh Fish
[ * ]
Hey y'all, I'm new to the tribe having bought my first 1997 Geo Metro a couple weeks ago. I'm entirely in love with the little thing already and have been using this as an opportunity to verse myself in the grease-world of engine mechanics. I've done a fair bit of searching on this site and otherwise as to what problem my Geo could be experiencing.

So far, the problem that keeps recurring is when I take the Geo on the highway and get it up to 55-60mph+ AND/OR am putting strain on it going up an incline, it begins to "buck" while constant pressure is remaining on the acceleration pedal. The way I can describe this bucking is it feels like either gas isn't getting to the engine, or the cylinders are misfiring... The weirdest parts about it are 1) it doesn't happen every time I get on the highway and 2) if I downshift it sometimes solves the problem temporarily and lets me drive in low gear/low speed (in 4th gear at about 40-45 mph). The car drives great around town with no problems if I stay away from the freeway. Additionally, this bucking problem has only occurred after driving on the highway for some time; it has happened after 20 min, and even once after an hour and a half. Usually, I just pull off the highway, let the car chill for a little, and then keep driving at a somewhat reduced speed.