Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Posted ImageWelcome to the all new Geo Metro Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are features you can't use and images you can't see. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free. If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Join our community!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Does your metro have carpet?; Thinking of leaving mine out.
Topic Started: Jul 12 2018, 05:22 PM (183 Views)
jellis1793
[ *  * ]
Still working on getting the time and money to get one of my metros ready for my daily commute. I pulled out the carpet and pressure washed it and got loads of nasty grime out. But I was thinking, why put it back in? I know it will be louder in the car. But how much? I'm a machinist so no matter how hard I try I track metal chips into my car. And carpet just clings on to it all. Any thoughts or experience with no carpet would be appreciated.
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

freegeo
Member Avatar

You will get more road noise and it will be a little louder.

It would make it easier to vacuum out the shavings.
Online Profile Quote Post Goto Top

Mythstae
Member Avatar

I have wondered if one could take an OEM carpet, clean it vigorously, and then saturate the (dry!) carpet fibers with snowfish's favorite; Herculiner.
If you got enough in, would it be like the rubber carpeting some 4x4s have? :hmm

Murf 59
Member Avatar

Our little engine are loud. Ask Potter what its like living with a Metro with no interior? LOL He stripped out his Metro and drove it to Palooza last year from like Alabama or somewhere in the S. Miserable. My Dark Starr car is painful to be in when the engine hits about 6500 rpm.

Car Nut
Member Avatar

freegeo
Jul 12 2018, 06:08 PM

A little louder? :lol :lol :lol

nwgeo

Pass on a few cheese burgers loose a couple of lbs... and leave the carpet.